Obama Administration Designates Eight New Promise Zones For Community Prosperity

The Obama administration has announced eight new Promise Zones across the country, including six cities, one rural area and one tribal community.

The Promise Zones initiative, launched last year by President Obama, focuses on high-poverty communities where the federal government and local leaders join together to address community priorities, such as improving educational opportunities, increasing economic activity, leveraging private investment, reducing violent crime and enhancing public health.

Julian Castro, secretary of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), and Tom Vilsack, secretary of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, announced that the following communities are now designated Promise Zones:

  • Camden, N.J.;
  • Hartford, Conn.;
  • Indianapolis;
  • Minneapolis;
  • Sacramento, Calif.;
  • St. Louis/St. Louis County;
  • Pine Ridge Indian Reservation of the Oglala Sioux Tribe, S.D.; and
  • South Carolina Low Country.

‘When we invest our resources and establish long-lasting public-private alliances to strengthen educational opportunities, deliver health care, build infrastructure and create jobs, we are investing in our country's future,’ says Vilsack.

To find out more, click here to see the HUD press release or here to see the HUD Promise Zones fact sheet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here