Senate Banking Committee OKs Five Regulatory Nominees

11213_congress Senate Banking Committee OKs Five Regulatory Nominees The Senate Banking Committee approved five Obama administration candidates for executive positions at federal regulatory agencies.

The following nominees were approved: Jerome Powell and Dr. Jeremy Stein as members of the board of governors of the Federal Reserve System; Jeremiah Norton as a member of the board of directors of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp.; Dr. Richard Berner as director of the Office of Financial Research; and Christy Romero as special inspector general for the Troubled Asset Relief Program. All five nominations were approved by voice vote, and will be sent to the full Senate for approval.

‘I hope the Senate will move quickly to consider and confirm today's nominees,’ says Sen. Tim Johnson, D-S.D., chairman of the committee. ‘They are qualified, they have the support of members in both parties, and there is no good reason to block their confirmation.’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here